NYT chocolate chip cookies

For this batch I used a mix of dark, white and milk chocolate chunks.

This recipe by David Leite took the baking world by storm more than 10 years ago and I think many still swear by it as the classic chocolate chip cookie recipe (including me). The ongoing covid situation prompted me to bake more these days and this cookie recipe even made me new friends in the office. Only differences I made to the recipe was to cut down on the chocolate, sugar and used AP flour instead of a mix of bread and cake flour. I leave my batter overnight in the fridge before baking the next day. It yields a beautiful and evenly browned cookie. This recipe makes a pretty big batch of cookies. You can scoop the batter into balls and freeze half for the next time instead of baking all at once. Enjoy!

Ingredients

16 ounces all purpose flour

1.25 tsp baking soda

1.5 tsp baking powder

10 ounces salted butter

8 ounces light brown sugar

6 ounces white sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

14 oz. best quality chocolate chunks (I use Valhrona 70%)

Maldon Sea Salt optional

Instructions

In a stand mixer, cream together the sugars and butter until light and fluffy. I usually let it mix on medium for at least five minutes while I’m measuring out the dry ingredients.

In a large bowl, sift together the flours and the baking powder and soda and set aside.

Add eggs one at a time and mix until incorporated.

Add vanilla.

Turn the mixer on low and slowly add the dry ingredients.

Add chocolate and mix a little to incorporate.  I like it when the mixer breaks up the big chunks a bit.

Cover the dough with plastic wrap, pressing it down onto the dough so there’s no air touching the dough.

Rest the dough in the refrigerator for 18-36 hours.

To bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet.

Depending on how big your cookie balls are (I use a medium ice cream scoop), place the dough balls on the tray with a lot of room around each one. If you’re going to use sea salt on the cookies, sprinkle a bit on each dough ball now.

Bake for 16-18 minutes (if you are making smaller cookies then adjust the time accordingly). The cookies will look a little gooey still. Remove from oven and let rest on the baking sheet for 5 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool further.

Repeat until all your cookies are baked.

Leave a comment